The Temple


“Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own? For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s.”I Corinthians 6:19-20 

We went to Angkor Wat a couple of weeks ago with the Potters Field team that came over to Cambodia. These temples were amazing! They were these huge buildings all made from stone, created over a thousand years ago. The design and the the detail in these temples were stunning. I loved taking in the uniqueness of the structure. What saddened me, and most of the people on the team was that these temples took years and years to build. Yet the people of Cambodia, in that day, built it for a god that doesn’t exist. A god that doesn’t hear their cries, that doesn’t come to their rescue, and a god that doesn’t love them. I love how the church of Christ is not the building, but the people. The body of Christ is all the people who are following the Lord with all their heart, soul, mind, and strength. Our God loves us, He hears our cries, and He saves us from our enemies. As amazing the temples were in Siem Reap, our God wants us as temples to Him. 1 Corinthians 6:19 says, “Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you.” The Holy Spirit is living in me, He is filling me with Him and guiding me in ways that I will know He is leading me. I need to be constantly taking care of the temple of God. If I don’t keep up the maintenance and more and more trash and filth get into it. The temple will start to fall apart and become unlivable for anyone. It will soon be looked at and awed of what it use to be but not what it is now. “For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s.” It is no longer I who live but Christ who lives in me. I need to live in the world as one of God’s chosen people, knowing that I am just passing through. Yet taking care of everything that He has given me.

A: Read Romans 6 “Dead to Sin, Alive in God”

Leave a Reply

