Daily Bread


Romans 14:3Let not him who eats despise him who does not eat, and let not him who does not eat judge him who eats; for God has received him.

This was probably one of the most difficult chapters for me to read and understand this week. I for some reason had Romans 14:11 written down. I was going to write about it, yet I felt like it was out of context. Long story short I decided to read the entire Romans 14 chapter to really understand it. This verse is what stuck out to me. Talking about someone who eats and one that doesn’t eat. Eat what? Eat food? Eat pizza? There is a lot of food that people eat. Being in Cambodia I have eaten things I never imagined I would. In the earlier verses it was talking about people who eat meat, verse people who eat vegetables. You can understand why my mind was confused. It’s talking about food and people judging another for what they eat. What does that even mean, why would someone despise another for not eating? Or the other way around, it just didn’t click. The the Lord hit me with a verse, “But He answered and said, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God.’ ” Matthew 4:4 The word of God is our daily bread. That is what I eat every morning. The word of God is what I live off of. This is probably one of the most difficult things that happen that we fall short on daily. Despising one another for believing in Jesus or for not believing in Jesus. How often does the Bible say that those who don’t believe are going to persecute those who do believe? “If the world hates you, you know that it hated Me before it hated you. If you were of the world, the world would love its own. Yet because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you.” John 15:18-19 Not becoming Christ like. I know I fall short, my emotions always seem to be the first to take over my mouth. My flesh screams to hate the other person, to become jealous, and to ignore them. Then the Lord’s soothing voice is what comes after. I start to realize that I was in sin in my mind, for thinking all that evil. With out my daily bread from the lord to fill me up, my flesh starts to hunger for vengeance. “Let not him who eats despise him who does not eat,” I just know that being in the His word every morning is what truly satisfies me. That I couldn’t live my life in not eating the daily bread that the Lord provides. I need to remember that everyone that doesn’t have Jesus are literally starving for food, and it is not fair for me to be judging them. It’s not fair for me to get upset with them when they have not been getting the food that they truly need. They aren’t being filled with the word of God, they aren’t drinking the water of life. “But whoever drinks of the water that I shall give him will never thirst. But the water that I shall give him will become in him a fountain of water springing up into everlasting life.” John 4:14
A: To be reading and eating my daily bread both in the morning and at night. “But his delight is in the law of the LORD, And in His law he meditates day and night.”

Psalms 1:2

Leave a Reply

