Dry Bones

image“And He said to me, “Son of man, can these bones live?” So I answered, “O Lord GOD, You know.””
Ezekiel 37:3 NKJV

This chapter made me burst out into tears. I had a very emotional devotional morning that morning. I began my morning crying out to the Lord on behalf of a friend. The path this friend has chosen kills me everyday. Yet, I keep giving it to the Lord. You know how everyone always talks about planting seeds? Well this seed in my friend seems to be drying up. I haven’t given up, I just feel useless from half way around the world. The Lord reminds me everyday that I am in Cambodia for a reason. All He wants me today is trust in Him. The Lord shows Ezekiel this valley of dry bones. The valley that just looks sad and hopeless. Filled with dry bones. Then the Lord asks “Can these bones live?” Ezekiel knows that he can’t make them alive, but he does know the Lord has the power too. His response to the Lord’s question is perfect… It is the one that we should all answer any question with. What is 2+2? “Oh Lord, You know.” It’s not the wrong answer.
My prayers recently have been giving up in my efforts. Giving up trying to save them. But it wasn’t until I read this chapter that I realized that I had the wrong attitude. My mind has been centered on if I could help them. If I could save them… But I can’t… It’s not me who saves them. I will never know if anyone I talk to will be saved or have a relationship with the Lord like I pray they do. Yet, I can lean on the fact that “Oh Lord, You know.” Even if it seems like their lives are dry and thirsty for water, no matter what they drink, they need a drink of the living water. And only the Lord knows when they will get to that point. When they finally realize that the Lord is all they need.

A: My prayers know will be prayed with confidence that only the Lord knows. And I will trust in Him. In every situation, I know the Lord knows the outcome.

Leave a Reply

